Dear World, I want an adventure!

What am I planning on blogging about? My work and travel trip to the Australian Outback. I leave March 16th and return December 14th. Yup, I will be in the Oz for 9 months (who knows maybe more!).

What made me decide to explore the unbeaten path? (And I’m not just talking about the outback). With so many of my friends already working for various financial companies or applying to law school you’d think I would jump on the bandwagon. Hell, I joined a professional business Fraternity and majored in Managerial Economics, all with the hope of working for a Fortune 500 Company. But then I got that feeling. Do you ever get that feeling of dread? The dread of knowing you’re about to join countless others in the wonderful thing known as the daily grind. Well, I got that feeling big time fall quarter of my senior year. I was interviewing for jobs I didn’t want and already wishing I could rewind time back to when I was a sophomore. Fast forward to my graduation date…I decided to help my parents at their agency. My days consisted of work work work and insurance insurance insurance. Don’t get me wrong, I am learning A LOT but it isn’t the job for me.

Fast forward once again to a conversation with the ex over tea. He told me about a book called, “Delaying the Real World: A Twentysomething’s Guide to Seeking Adventure”. I immediately bought it and was hooked! I spent 3 weeks crazily searching different adventures all over the world.

I ultimately picked Australia because 1) I’ve heard wonderful things about it 2) It wasn’t too hard to get a work and travel visa 3) I can tick off another continent that I have been to. Funny thing is the outback wasn’t my first choice. I was actually signed up to work in Sydney but changed my mind a month ago, but that story is for a different blog.

The road I’m about to embark on isn’t for everyone. I certainly do not look down on those who have chosen to work instead of doing something insane like me. In fact I’m proud of all my friends who have jobs or are furthering their education and I plan on joining them in a year….who am I kidding? More like in 3 years.

Leave a comment